Posted by: addictmystory | May 8, 2012

5.8.12 – Methadone Hell – Bad Day due to lowering my dose…

I never slept a wink last night – I have had meetings all day – all over town. The driving the sitting has killed my back, my neck, my shoulders. All I can think about it why does Methadone make your body feel like a magnet when you are detoxing and does it do this to everyone???? I hate this pulsing feeling….It feels like my skin is literally bouncing – I know noone else can see it move but the spasms drive me crazy – The pain is almost unbearable….plus I have been just numb all day…the rainy weather has not helped that I’m sure…but this is why I believe I have hoovered for so long at the 5 to 10 mg range….The pulsing and the pain are often just so intense that I could not imagine having to work and balance all my home responsibilites too if I felt much worse.

I have promised myself that I will get outside after work – go for a walk and do some serious stretching….followed by YOGA – followed by a HOT bath in epsom salt. Plus, I have not slept on ice packs in about 2 weeks so I will be back on those for sure….those always help with the pulsing…and calm me down.

Another thing I have found that works is loading up on B-12 – having energy makes the cravings and pain less intense for sure. Then sniffing organic oils like Anise or celery seed seem to also help too. I rub that on my skin at night and it seems to calm the nervous….

Responses

  1. I’m sorry it’s been so bad… hope it’s gotten better since the 8th.. God is with you

    • Thank you so much – I just soooooo want off of these orange pills. I am super proud of my accomplishments thus far but some days you just forget how far you have came. Then the pain can just seem so unbearable at times (the throbbing and pulsing and skin crawling and the list goes on and on). Anyway, I really appreciate you following me along on my journey. I speak all over – to parents, to teens, to groups, etc

      I speak about why not to start using drugs, the warning signs, and why a lot of people use….Plus why they cannot simply stop, so if you ever have any good information to contribute please do so – Senior trips for all the high schools is just around the corner and many of those kids will not make it home.

      Thank you again,

  2. I don’t think I said enough earlier. Some of us have been to our own personal hell and we are alive to talk about it. I’m really glad you are willing to talk about it. But the morning does come, and life seems together again. And, God makes it so the new morning isn’t like the old days were- or we would use again. He, with our help, constructs something new, different in us – something that makes us the authentic me that we were made to be. And somehow it seems we are in a new world.


Leave a Reply

Categories

